Pregnancy Update: 2nd Trimester – Week 25

It’s time for your weekly pregnancy update! At 25 weeks, I am about 5 months and about 2 weeks pregnant.

Week 25 Main

Week 25 Profile

Our Babies are as big as a head of cauliflower! They are measuring 13.6 inches in length and weighing nearly 1.5 This is taller than 2 juice boxes stacked one on top of the other and almost as heavy as 4 of them!

cauliflowerSource

HERE’S WHAT ELSE BABIES HAVE BEEN UP TO THIS WEEK:
Babies Skin & Veins. Babies skin is turning pinker, not because they are getting overheated (in fact, the amniotic fluid is perfectly climate-controlled, keeping them at an always comfortable temperature), but because small blood vessels, called capillaries, are forming under the skin and filling with blood.

Babies Lungs Are Gearing Up to Breathe. Continuing from the developments noted above, later this week, blood vessels will also develop in our babies lungs, bringing them one step closer to full maturity, and one step closer to taking that first breath of fresh air. Yet, at this point, our babies lungs are still very much works-in-progress. Though they are already beginning to produce surfactant, a substance that will help them expand with oxygen after Babies is born, the lungs are still too undeveloped to sufficiently send oxygen to the bloodstream and release carbon dioxide when they exhale.

Babies Noses Start To Work. The lungs aren’t the only system that’s gearing up for air intake. Our babies nostrils and nose are starting to work. This will allow our little ones to begin taking practice breaths. Of course since there’s no air in there, our babies are really only “breathing” amniotic fluid, but it’s the practice that counts, right? Our twins could also be able to smell various scents in my womb by this week, too. But if not right away, that sense will kick in by the 3rd Trimester.

Hair. Our babies are growing more hair, with a distinctive color, shape (curls or straight) and texture (fine or thick).

Sense Of Light. Our babies senses are developing fast. Around this stage, fetal brain scans show that babies respond to touch and light. If I were to shine a light on my belly, our babies will turn their head, which shows that their optic nerves are working.

Week 25 FetusSource

AND HERE’S WHAT’S BEEN HAPPENING WITH ME THIS PAST WEEK:
My Soccer-Ball Uterus. At 25 weeks pregnant, I’ve noticed a decent increase in my belly size over the past few weeks. My fundal measurements (the length between my pubic bone and the top of my uterus) grew about a 1.5 inches in the past 4 weeks alone. My ever-growing uterus has now reached the size of a soccer ball! (Look at that, I’m a soccer mom already and I didn’t even have to buy the minivan…ha!) I’m enjoying my cute soccer ball tummy up in front (and getting to know my growing little mid-fielders through all those practice kicks).

1st Braxton-Hicks Contractions. Braxton-Hicks contractions are contractions, or sudden tightening, of my uterus. They feel a little like a menstrual cramp, but different. Sometimes they hurt in a stabbing, gasping-for-air sort of way, and other times they don’t hurt at all. Everything just clenches up for a few seconds or a minute (if I put my hand on my stomach, I can sometimes even feel the sudden rock-hardness of my uterus), and then everything relaxes, as if nothing happened at all. They aren’t dangerous or an indicator of early labor (unless I have more than 4 an hour, or notice bleeding or leaking fluid, which let’s pray doesn’t happen until after 38 weeks.) Braxton Hicks are my body’s natural warming up for the real thing (giving birth).

I’ve learned that dehydration can play a big part in these sorts of contractions, so I’ve been doubling and tripling the amount of water I drink. These little “practice contractions” typically show up around 28 weeks, but some moms-to-be notice them earlier than that. Luckily, my Braxton Hicks contractions aren’t frequent and they don’t happen regularly. They’ll also go away if I switch positions.

Fetal Movement. Our babies kicks and movements have become more noticeable, and I’ve noticed some patterns. When I’m feeling lots of kicks, it means that our babies are awake, and when I don’t, they are likely snoozing. Regular movement is a sign of healthy, active babies. If I haven’t felt the twins move in a while and I want some reassurance that everything’s okay, I’ve discovered that I just drink some ice water, play some music, or have my hubby give me a light massage, and our little ones tend to wake up and give me a few jabs.

OTHER SYMPTOMS:
• Trouble sleeping.
• Frequent urination.
• Constipation.
• Hemorrhoids.
• Gas and bloating.
• Heartburn.

* * * * * * * * *

Food Aversions:
Mostly every raw or cooked vegetables (my husband has to eat them all), except cucumbers or tomatoes. Also, spices, herbs, tea, certain protein bars cause me to gag.

Food Cravings:
Still loving:  PB & J and banana slices, English Muffins, Starburst Jelly Beans, Greek Yogurt, Pickles, Ice-Cream, Eggs and Toast, Oatmeal, Cereal, Frozen Burritos, Watermelon, Honeydew.

New! Over last weekend, Mike and I went to eat at one of our favorite quick-and-easy breakfast spots — The Bagel Man. We just LOVE their huge fresh bagels and especially love the owners. The store is run by a Jewish family from New York City and have such dynamic and friendly aura about them. The owner always comes out into the lobby to greet people, and has done so with us every time!

the bagel man #2Source

Mike and I both got a Bagelwich with scrambled eggs, cheese and ham on a jalapeño bagel with plain cream cheese. Delicious! We also bought a half-dozen bagels to-go with schmear. We’ve both been eating on them for breakfasts and I made 2 lunch sandwiches with them. Yesterday, they were all gobbled up. You can say I had a craving for bagels.

the bagel manThis is my picture. Sorry it is dark and doesn’t do justice to these huge yummy bagels.

Other “New” Cravings have been Mike’s Chili. About 3 times a year, my hubby makes the BEST chili (in my opinion) ever. He uses real beef, a variety of beans, a few differed kinds of fresh peppers and other “secret” ingredients and spices. It’s a perfect combination. He made enough for 6 meals. We’ve eaten it for 3 meals this week and froze the rest for future dinners. I’d say I’ve been “craving” chili too. Perhaps it’s the saltiness, spice, and extra protein and iron in the meat my body has wanted.

 

 

Source, Source & Source

Finally, the last two cravings have been homemade biscuits (I use Bisquick) with honey and butter on top. Also, I’ve just been loving fruit….ANY kind of of fruit this Summer, but I tend to purchase whatever is fresh and in-season at the grocery store. This past week, I bought a 2 mangoes, a 2 lb bag of cherries, and a pineapple.

Sleep:
I’ve been sleeping better. Still taking an afternoon nap, too.

Fun Exciting, & Weird Stuff From the Week?
First of all, I had my 25 Week Perinatal Ultrasound/Check-Up last Thursday August 3rd. It went well! I will publish a little write-up on Monday August 7th about the details! 

Twin A-1

Secondly, I’m still experiencing the incredibly painful sciatica in my lower back, right glute and now down my right leg. It seems to be holding on and not healing. This past week, I knew I needed some type of treatment. In several of the pregnancy books I’ve read for the past 5.5 months, many have mentioned research that acupuncture is a successful and safe treatment for sciatica and other ailments that occur during pregnancy. I found a local practice and went in for my very first (ever) acupuncture treatment yesterday (Thursday August 3rd).

AcupunctureSource

I went to see Dr. David LeGar and let me just note, he did a wonderful job! I was quite skeptical of acupuncture, in general. I went to see a chiropractor years ago, and came away with that experience NOT a fan. I’d felt like my back/neck were actually worse with the adjustments the doctor had given me. However, acupuncture is different and I’m not a believer.

Just a bit about acupuncture from LeGar’s website:

Acupuncture is one of mankind’s oldest treatments, dating back 4,000 years in China. After the rise of Western medicine in the 19th and 20th centuries, acupuncture fell out of favor in China. However, rural healers continued to implement acupuncture, keeping its traditions alive. Acupuncture made a comeback in China in the 1950s, and many scientific studies conducted in China reported its effectiveness for certain conditions.

The treatment was first introduced to the general American public in a 1972 article inThe New York Times. Within 20 years, nearly 15 million Americans had undergone the procedure. In 1997, a National Institutes of Health (NIH) report concluded that acupuncture was a viable treatment for several conditions.

acupuncture #2Source

My sciatica isn’t “cured” or 100% healed, but I didn’t expect it would be. However, my back, glutes and legs feel MUCH better and I don’t walk with quite the limp and pain that I did prior to my appointment. For me, that’s success and worth it. Will I do back for a follow-up appointment? Yes. His prices are decent, and actually my insurance covers 50% of the costs (your insurance may cover 100%. My insurance is out-of-network, meaning it doesn’t cover acupuncture fully).

Looking Forward To…
When the sciatica is healed/goes away (which hopefully is soon)! I hope I won’t have this for the remainder of my pregnancy. But most of all, I want the babies to continue to grow and develop really well. If I have to go through pain in order for them to do so, well then the pain is worth it.

I’m also looking forward to starting to put together my Hospital Bag around 32-36 weeks. I pray I don’t go into labor until 37-38 weeks, but I know that it’s smart to have my bag packed prior to going to the hospital.

Any Baby/Pregnancy-Related Purchases?
Yes! This past week I bought a Nursery/Hygiene Kit, a set of Tommee Tippee Bottles, Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth book, a Diaper Bag/Backpack, Bath Toys, baby/child closet hangers, two adorable stuffed animals (not shown below).

 

Stretch Marks?
Nope. Only the two minor/small ones I got back in Week 12.

Belly Button In Or Out?
Definitely have had an outie now for weeks.

Happy or Moody Most Of The Time?
Very, very happy still! Sometimes I get emotional now. I think it’s just the hormones. Overall, though, I’m still just so grateful that God blessed us with me getting pregnant.

Any Movement?
Yes, yes! Each day and week, the babies kick more and more! I LOVE it! It’s wonderful and gives me a great sense of peace, comfort, excitement and love towards our twins. My hubby and I regularly feel their kicks during our evenings together! We also talk to the twins…hoping that they’ll learn our voices well!

* * * * * * * * *

2 thoughts on “Pregnancy Update: 2nd Trimester – Week 25

Leave a Reply

