Pregnancy Update: 2nd Trimester – Week 24

It’s time for your weekly pregnancy update! Now that I’m 24 weeks pregnant, I am 5 months and about 1 week pregnant. If I do simple multiplication, it seems like 24 weeks would be 6 months pregnant, but I have to remember that all months except February are longer than just 4 weeks, and those extra days add up!

Week 24 Main

Week 24 Profile #3

Week 24 Profile

At 24 weeks, babies are the size of a cantaloupe! Our 11.8-inch babies now weigh about 1.3 pounds.

canteloupeSource

HERE’S WHAT ELSE BABIES HAVE BEEN UP TO THIS WEEK:
Babies Faces Are Formed. Our babies are gaining steadily at a rate of about 6 ounces per week. Much of that weight comes from growing organs, bones, muscle and accumulating baby fat. Wondering what (and who) our babies will look like? If I had a Baby Cam, we’d almost be able to tell by now. Their beautiful faces (though still tiny) are almost fully formed, complete with eyelashes, eyebrows and hair. Are our babies brunette or blonde? Actually, right now their locks are white since there’s no pigment yet. The fat that will be piled on under our babies skin is also missing from the picture right now. Until those fat deposits are made, that very tender skin is still very transparent, which means a close look would let me see clear through to all the organs, bones and blood vessels. Fortunately, that see-through look won’t last much longer.

Fetal Hearing. All kinds of sounds can be heard by our babies in my womb: air exhaling from my lungs, those gastric gurgles produced by my stomach and intestines, my voice and hubby’s (which our babies will be able to recognize at birth) and even very loud sounds such as honking horns, barking dogs or a wailing fire truck.

Almost Safe Zone. Are officially at the edge of viability, and most hospitals would automatically attempt every possible life-saving option if our babies were to be born now. However, I want them to stay in utero until 38 weeks!

Taste Buds Developing. For all me know, our babies may also be developing a weakness for sweets! Their tastebuds are forming, and, believe it or not, acquiring a sweet tooth is all part of it.

Week 24 FetusSource

AND HERE’S WHAT’S BEEN HAPPENING WITH ME THIS PAST WEEK:
Belly-button Popped Out. Since my former innie is now an outie since all the way back in my 12th week actually. I’ve been welcomed to The Outie Club. Apparently almost every expectant mom’s pregnant belly button pops at some point as her swelling uterus pushes on everything in its path. I’ve read that things should return to normal after delivery, though my navel (and some other parts of my body) might look a bit, well, stretched. But, I’m thinking it as one more badge of honor that only moms get to wear.

Sciatica. Beginning last Saturday, I developed a really rough case of sciatica. For those of you who are unaware of what it is, it’s when the nerves in the lower back are “pinched” due to either the babies moving into them, or due to the uterus expanding due to a “growth spurt/weight gain” in the mother’s belly. I think my case includes both of those. It was and is horribly painful, and I couldn’t do my usual hiking or walking. I can barely walk, and when I do, I limp/hobble around the apartment. I have felt down/blue/sad due to the lack of endorphins I receive from exercise. I’ve been also more grumpy due to feeling full more, since I’m not burning as many of the calories that I consume due to lack of exercise. But I’ve been trying my best to keep a good attitude. I keep telling myself that this pain and discomfort will be worth enduring in the end for the babies.

sciaticaSourcesciatica #2Source

• Glucose Test. At my last perinatal appointment, I learned that I will undergo the glucose screening test at some point between now and 30 weeks to check for gestational diabetes. It’s really common to have done for all pregnancy women. The test involves chugging down an incredibly sickly-sweet beverage. Then, I’ll wait an hour and give a blood sample. I hope I’ll pass. But, I learned that a positive screen does not necessarily mean me have GD, it just means I’ll have to get a whole OTHER, more-monitored test.

Swollen Ankles and Feet. My feet are are puffy. I elevate them while I’m sitting and that helps. They really aren’t too bad. I stick to slip-ons and Tevas for the most part now. They are comfy and looser.

* * * * * * * *

Food Aversions:
Still mostly every raw or cooked vegetables (my husband has to eat them all), except cucumbers or tomatoes. Also, spices, herbs, tea, certain protein bars cause me to gag.

Food Cravings:
Still loving:  PB & J and banana slices, Starburst Jelly Beans, English Muffins, Greek Yogurt, Cheese, Pickles, Ice-Cream, Burgers, Frozen Burritos, Eggs & Toast, Oatmeal, Cereal, Watermelon, Kiwis, Honeydew.

New: Corn-on-the-cob, Passion Fruit Chobani, Little Bites Mini-Muffins

Source, Source & Source

Sleep:
I’ve been sleeping pretty well…and during naps, too. In fact, I’ve started becoming really tired again. Sigh… I heard that 3rd Trimester this happens. I’m not there yet, of course, as I still have officially 3 more weeks. However, I’ve learned that expecting moms with twins tend to experience everything “in advance” — meaning we can be “weeks ahead” in terms of symptoms.

Fun Exciting, & Weird Stuff From the Week?
This isn’t so “fun” but I suffered from sciatica over this past week, which has been physically and mentally hard. I mentioned it above. I am praying it goes away soon. Anyways, I found a chart of things that pregnant women experience all through their bodies, in case you are interested:

pregnant symptomsClick Me!

Looking Forward To…
My Week 25 Appointment next Wednesday on August 2nd. I always love seeing the babies on the ultrasound screen, hearing their hearts beating and getting pictures sent to us to print out!

Any Baby/Pregnancy-Related Purchases?
So far, my hubby and I have received mostly all of our nursery items and he’s put together/built all but 1 thing. It’s looking really good! I’m excited to have that done. I’m also grateful we did the majority of it when we did, because I’ve been more tired lately. We still need some major items, but some family members have promised to take care of those, and the rest of the little things (bottles, baby nail clippers, my breast pump, nursing pillow, etc) we’ll buy closer to our due date.

Stretch Marks?
Only two light stretch marks. Hopefully that’s all I’ll get!

Belly Button In Or Out?
Definitely an outie now. Belly bump is getting big!!

Happy or Moody Most Of The Time?
Very, very happy still! Sometimes I get emotional now. I think it’s just the hormones. Overall, though, I’m still just so grateful that God blessed us with me getting pregnant.

Any Movement?
Yes, yes, yes! Kicking! The two babies have been moving A LOT since my 23rd week mark! It’s wonderful! Both hubby and I will sit on the couch and watch my tummy “move” as their little feet or hands create little “bumps” as they wiggle, kick and dance!

* * * * * * * * *

2 thoughts on “Pregnancy Update: 2nd Trimester – Week 24

Leave a Reply

