Pregnancy Update: 2nd Trimester – Week 22

It’s time for your weekly pregnancy update! I am 4 months and about 4 weeks pregnant. Once Week 22 of pregnancy ends, I’ll officially be 5 months pregnant!

Week 22 Main

Week 22 Profile

At 22 weeks, our babies are the size of a coconut! Average babies size at 22 weeks is 10.9 inches long (from the crown of the head to the heel of the foot) and 15.2 ounces.

*It’s getting crowded in here! Our rapidly growing babies are invading my space, to say the least. That’s why it might be tough to catch my breath and why I’m getting sciatica a bit. As the twins grow, they are expanding my belly so much and so fast!

coconutSource

HERE’S WHAT ELSE BABIES HAVE BEEN UP TO THIS WEEK:
Babies Hit A Big Weight Milestone. Guess what? Our twins, who are each both about the size of a small doll, have finally broken the one-pound mark! How heavy is that? Hold a one-pound bag of sugar in your arms the next time you are in the grocery store. Is the bag 11 inches long? That’s about the length our babies are, too!

•  Babies Grip, Vision and Hearing Are Getting Stronger. This week, our sweeties are making more sense of the world as they develop their sense of touch. In fact, our little ones grips are quite strong now. Since there’s nothing else to grab in my womb, they may sometimes hold on tight to their umbilical cord. Their sense of sight is also becoming more fine-tuned. They can now perceive light and dark much better than before, even with those fused eyelids. However, unless I shine a flashlight over my belly, it’ll be mostly dark for our babies inside my cozy womb. They can also hear my voice, my heartbeat, my gurgling stomach and the whoosh-whoosh of blood circulating through my body.

•  Facial Features. They are both getting more defined facial features every day, and already look unmistakably like themselves on a 3D ultrasound.

•  Eyes & Lips. Now that our babies eyes and lips are more developed, they look even more like a newborn.

•  Sleep Cycle. Babies are sleeping in cycles of about 12 to 14 hours per day.

•  Babies Poo is also starting to accumulate in their guts now. It’s made up of a number of things that our babies ingests while they’re in my womb, including amniotic fluid and shed skin cells. They’ll swallow this and store it in their bowels as meconium, a black or dark green sticky substance.

Week 22 FetusSource

AND HERE’S WHAT’S BEEN HAPPENING WITH ME THIS PAST WEEK:
Foot Growth. At 22 weeks pregnant, my uterus is now about an inch above my belly button and growing by leaps and bounds. Yet, my tummy is not the only thing that’s growing these days. My feet have been getting bigger, too! I learned that while some foot growth can be attributed to pregnancy swelling (edema), there’s another reason that feet increase in size during pregnancy (and usually don’t shrink back after). Relaxin, the pregnancy hormone that loosens the ligaments and joints around my pelvis so my babies can fit through, is causing my feet to grow, too. Relaxin doesn’t discriminate between the ligaments I’d want loosened up and those I’d rather it would just leave alone. The result: When the ligaments in the feet are loosened, the bones under them tend to spread slightly, resulting in a half or whole shoe size increase for many women. I’ve noticed this simply because my shoes have suddenly felt uncomfortably tight. So, I’ll probably have to purchase a new pair of hiking/running shoes soon. I’m currently wearing my slip-on Tevas a lot because they were naturally a bit bigger.

Gaining Weight. I’m slowing gaining 1/4 – 1/2 pound a week now. I need to get up to gaining closer to a solid pound per week though, according to my doctor. I’m working on it.

Eating More. Speaking of the above bullet point, I am finding myself ravenously hungry at odd times during the day — the middle of the afternoon and after dinner. I’m eating both nutrient-rich protein-heavy snacks like cottage cheese, Greek yogurt and peanut butter, but also carbs and calcium-rich ice-cream, too!

Emotional. I continue to be that pregnancy-patented mix of moods and emotions. Blissfully happy and belly-rubbing one minute, wracked with anxiety and worry the next. Affectionately hoping our babies looks just like my partner one minute, snapping at hubby the next.

My Skin. My radiant skin is proof that not all pregnancy symptoms are unpleasant. I’m retaining more moisture than I did before I conceived, and I have a lot more blood pumping through my body. The effect on my skin is commonly known as the “pregnancy glow.”

My Hair. My hair is looking pretty great, too. Before I was pregnant, I grew new hairs at the same rate that my older hairs fell out. However, thanks to the extra oestrogen in my system, my hairs are now growing for a much longer time before they fall out. So my hair is looking extra voluminous!

OTHER SYMPTOMS:
• Outie belly button.
• Sciatica and Round Ligament Pain.
• A little more tired than usual.
• Minor Backaches.
• Trouble catching my breath.

 * * * * * * *

Food Aversions:
Mostly every raw or cooked vegetables (my husband has to eat them all), except cucumbers or tomatoes. Also, spices, herbs, tea, certain protein bars cause me to gag.

Food Cravings:
Still loving:  PB & J and banana slices, English Muffins, Starbucks, Jelly Beans,  Greek Yogurt, Pickles, Ice-Cream, Burgers, Fries, Frozen Burritos, Pizza, Eggs & Toast, Bagels, Oatmeal with toppings, Watermelon, Honeydew

New: This past week, I had the opportunity to eat out three times. Once with a MOPS friend, another with my Busy Bees group and again with my hubby. I’ve decided I really enjoy, devoured and have an itch to have again (within the next month or so) the following:  Egg McMuffins, Starbucks Blueberry Muffins, Subway White Chocolate Chip Macadamia Nut Cookies, and Fresh Bing Cherries

 

 

Source, Source, Source, & Source

Sleep:
I’ve been sleeping better now that we are moved into our new place. However, it’s still been somewhat hard with the hot temperatures here in Phoenix. But it’s better.

Fun Exciting, & Weird Stuff From the Week?
We went to see Wonder Woman and it was an awesome movie. I know this has nothing to do with babies/pregnancy. It was just a great flick, and I loved how WW was an awesome example of intelligence, bravery, love and strength. I’m a feminist at heart, so I’m ALL about the media and Hollywood making more movies demonstrating how women are just as great as capable as men.

wonder womanSource

Also, hubby and I got a LOT done in terms of putting together the nursery! He went at it…built and set-up the two cribs, the glider and changing table. He also set up/installed a rod with lovely translucent curtains. Meanwhile, I made the bedding sets for the cribs, mobiles, stuffed animals, put up wall decals for the themes we have for Baby Girl A and Baby Boy B. I also brought in a CD player with lullaby CD’s and lamps that match the nursery themes. I also hung some baby clothes I have, set-up a book stand, put the diapers and wipes in the closet. We still have more to purchase in general for the babies, but we both feel we got a great start and the nursery is lookin’ good! So excited that we have a calm and peaceful room for our babies to enjoy.

nursery 5Source (This is Just An Example. It’s Not What Our Nursery Looks Like)

Looking Forward To…
I have my next ultrasound/check up next Thursday July 20th. I’m eager to hear the heartbeats and see the babies again. It will have been a full 4 weeks since my last one. I hope and pray they’ve both grown on-target and are doing well.

Any Baby/Pregnancy-Related Purchases?
Yes. We bought 4 baby books (books to read during birth – age 3, 4 pacifiers, changing table liners, a diaper caddy, a white noise machine, a sling, and some swaddle blankets! These can call be found on my Baby Registry.

items

Stretch Marks?
Just those that I got way back at 12 weeks. But I only have about 2 light ones. I’ve read multiple sources that stretch marks are genetic, and my mother didn’t have them, thus, that’s why I haven’t gotten many at all.

Belly Button In Or Out?
Definitely an outie…ever since about 12 weeks!

Happy or Moody Most Of The Time?
Very, very happy still! Sometimes I get emotional now. I think it’s just the hormones. Overall, though, I’m still just so grateful that God blessed us with me getting pregnant.

Any Movement?
Only flutters, bubbles and tapping. From some of the pregnancy books and articles I’ve read, I’ve heard that 22-24 weeks is when I should start REALLY feeling the babies kick. So far, I’ve only felt like taps, bubbles and flutters since both babies placentas are anterior.

* * * * * * * *

2 thoughts on “Pregnancy Update: 2nd Trimester – Week 22

Leave a Reply

