Pregnancy Update: 1st Trimester – Week 13

It’s time for your weekly pregnancy update! At 13 weeks, I’m 3 months and 1 week pregnant!

* I’m in my last week of 1st Trimester! I’m starting 2nd Trimester!
I can’t say it enough because it’s so great to be here!

Week 13 MainWeek 13 Profile

At 13 weeks pregnant, our babies are each as big as a lemon. Our babies are about 2.9 inches long and weigh about .81 ounces. Proportion-wise, their heads are now about 1/3 the size of their body instead of 1/2.

LemonSource

**Announcing Pregnancy to Family/Friends: I have already informed my family members, MOPS group and Busy Bees ladies of my pregnancy all the way back when I was 5 weeks along. I knew the risks associated with telling everyone so early. But I wanted their support along the journey for me…for my hubby…for the babies. That was just a personal decision we made. I respect anyone else’s decision to keep it mum until after their 1st Trimester. There are no hard-and-fast rules about when you should divulge your secret. It’s totally each person’s/couple’s call.

But we didn’t tell anyone else (friends). However, at this point, we are going to now share with our friends on Facebook early next week.

* * * * * * * *

HERE’S WHAT ELSE BABIES HAVE BEEN UP TO THIS WEEK:
●  Skeleton. Tiny bones are beginning to form in their arms and legs.

Thumb-Sucking. Because they can move them in a jerky fashion, they may be able to get their thumb into their mouth (Thumb-sucking = A habit that may come in handy for self-soothing when they are newborns).

●  Head-Size. Babies look less and less like Big Giant Heads and more and more proportionate as the next weeks tick by.

●  Fetal Growth Rates. What’s up with our babies? Besides being as large as a lemon or peach now, the heads of our babies are now the size of their crown-to-rump length. That’s one reason why our little lemons looks more like aliens from outer space at this point. But by the time I give birth, their bodies will catch up, measuring three-quarters of their total size. But I’ve learned from books that I shouldn’t compare each fetus with each other. Starting in the next week or so, babies begin growing at different paces, some faster, some more slowly, though they all follow the same developmental path.

●  Intestines Are Developing.  Babies have intestines on the INSIDE of his or her body. They start developing outside the body, in the umbilical cord, and then sort of…migrate up to their proper home around 13 weeks. I know. Biology is so fascinating! Our baby’s intestines are also in for some big changes. Up until this point, they’ve been growing in cavities inside the umbilical cord, but now they are moving to their permanent (and more conveniently located) location, into each baby’s abdomen. The placenta is also growing, eventually weighing one to two pounds at birth which will nourish them throughout the rest of my pregnancy.

●  Vocal Cords Are Developing. Our babies vocal cords are also developing. Essentially, this is the first step towards our little ones saying, “I love you, Mommy and Daddy!”. Because sound can’t travel through my uterus, I won’t be able to hear any sounds or cries just yet, but once they are born, we’ll hear them happily!

●  Tiny fingerprints are forming on their fingers. In fact they have their very own fingerprints right now!

●  Reproductive Organs. If one of the twins is a boy, his testicles have finished developing. And if one of the twins is a girl, her ovaries have now formed. But it’s too early to see these details on an ultrasound scan just yet.

Week 13 FetusSource

AND HERE’S WHAT’S BEEN HAPPENING WITH ME THIS PAST WEEK:
●  Fatigue Is Lifting. I haven’t been as tired. However, I still can’t seem to make it through the day without a catnap. This is likely because I’m growing twins. Takes a lot of energy.

●  Glowing. Lately, hubby has been saying I’ve been “glowing” just like everybody always talks about happens with pregnant women. I honestly wondered if or when this would happen to me. I’ve learned “The Glow” is actually just hormonal changes in my skin’s oil production, but it seems most people find it dewy and lovely instead of gross or oily.

●  Hair and Nails. My hair and nails are changing as well. I’ve learned a lot of women stop shedding hair during their pregnancies, leading to very thick heads of hair that may also grow faster. I like this idea. I would love thicker hair. My fingernails are tending to get slightly stronger and longer as well, so I hope this trend keeps up!

●  Increase In Energy. The 2nd Trimester is known as the least symptomatic, and the most energetic according to all the books, articles, blogs and friends. I’m slowly feeling more like myself and am able to knock more stuff off my to-do list. There were so many days during 1st Trimester that I was just so tired where I didn’t do much at all. I’m going to take advantage (with care and safety) to get some important things done (preparing the nursery).

●  Larger Uterus. My uterus is now big enough that it’s growing up and out of my pelvis. This means I’m starting to actually look pregnant! Finally, right?

●  Need to Gain Weight. Now that I’m in my 13th week, I need to start packing on the l-b’s. I’m pretty small to start with and according to the weight gain guidelines outlined by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), I need to gain between 28 to 40 pounds (total). Believe it or not, this will be hard for me. I’m are resistant gainer. So, here we come burgers, fries, ice-cream (but I’ll do healthy stuff do like salads with dressing, nuts, nut butters, pasta, etc).

OTHER SYMPTOMS:
●  Morning Sickness. Although it has lessened in intensity, I still am experiencing some morning sickness and fatigue. That’s because twin moms can have more of the pregnancy hormone hCG in their systems. That’s me. I just wait it out a little longer…some women it takes until the 14-16th weeks. I’ve been told I’ll eventually have actual full days where I want to eat everything in sight soon.

●  Visible veins. I see some blue streaks under my skin because I have increased blood flow.

Food Aversions:
Mostly cooked vegetables . Also, spices, herbs, tea, certain protein bars cause me to gag.

Food Cravings:
Still loving: PB & J sandwiches, bananas, Starburst Jelly Beans, Greek yogurt, pickles, HALO Ice-Cream, Watermelon, Plums, fresh salads, burgers, sweet potato fries.

New: Oatmeal with ALL the fixings (I make it with different toppings every day), Tacos (Beef, chicken, fish – I’ve had all 3 in the past week!)

oatmealSource

tacosSource

Sleep:
I’ve been struggling with sleeping off-and-on. Some nights are ok. Others, I don’t get as deep of sleep as I’d like. Fortunately, I take 1 nap each day…which helps.

Fun Exciting, & Weird Stuff From the Week?
A clerk that I always see at Walmart each week (we’ve actually become close acquaintances) asked me if I was pregnant and I chatted with her a bit! So, I must be “showing” enough that people are starting to ask!

Also, I had my 13-Week Ultrasound and check-up yesterday, Thursday May 11th. Everything is going well, according to the doctor and technician. I will publish a post with more detail on Monday May 15th. Check in then!

Looking Forward To…
I can’t wait to purchase some serious maternity clothes soon! My baby bump is still fairly small and I have tank tops that stretch. But I want and will need to buy some stretchy/expanding shorts and pants soon!

MATERNITY DRESSSource

Any Baby/Pregnancy-Related Purchases?
None this week. Waiting until June to purchase stuff for the nursery, after our family members help us out with some of the big items.

Stretch Marks?
Nope. I need to buy some belly butter soon…before that starts!

Belly Button In Or Out?
My belly seems to have “popped” over the course of the last 2 weeks! Mike particularly noticed, and now it’s pretty obvious when I go out to places. Also, my belly button is also starting to really “pops” out! I think it will fully be an “outie” by the end of my pregnancy!

Happy or Moody Most Of The Time?
Very happy still! Sometimes I get emotional now. I think it’s just the hormones. Overall, though, I’m still just so grateful that God blessed us with our twins and that everything seems to be going well, so far! May God continue to protect them and grow them well!

Any Movement?
No. Still not yet. I think I have several weeks to go before I feel movement…but I’ve heard for twin pregnancies it can happen as early as Weeks 15 or 16!

* * * * * * * *

Leave a Reply

