Pregnancy Update: 1st Trimester – Week 12

It’s time for your weekly pregnancy update! At 12 weeks, I’m 3 months pregnant!

**I’m almost through my 1ST Trimester! 1 More Week to Go!

Week 12 MainWeek 12 Profile

Our babies are growing at a great rate, still! During week 12 of our pregnancy, our babies are as big as a plum! The average fetus at 12 weeks is about 2.1 inches long and .49 ounces. Now that our babies have pretty much all their important organs, their main job is to keep on growing.

Grow, babies grow! It’s hard to believe (especially from the outside, since I’m still barely showing at this point), but our babies have more than doubled in size
during the past 3 weeks!

plumSource

HERE’S WHAT ELSE BABIES HAVE BEEN UP TO THIS WEEK:
●   This week marks a turning point for our babies. The Herculean task of developing new bodily structures is nearing an end, as most of our babies systems are fully formed, though there’s still plenty of maturing to do. Already has pretty much every structure, organ and system needed for life by this point. Everything will continue to develop and mature for the next 28 weeks, but our babies really are perfect little miniature human beings. Now comes the maintenance phase.

●   Baby’s Digestive System Begins Working. Our babies fetal digestive systems are beginning to flex their muscles, literally, as they start practicing contraction movements. This is a skill our little peanuts will need after birth to push food through their digestive tracts.

●   Bone marrow is busy making white blood cells — weapons that will one day help our babies fight infections.

Reproductive organs are distinctly male or female. The pituitary gland at the base of the babies brain have started producing the hormones that’ll enable them to make babies of their own in a few decades or so.

Can officially be Bugged By Me. Reflexes have developed, so if I push on my uterus, our baby will squirm and move in response.

● Babies are opening and closing their fingers and curling toes. And each baby’s brain is developing fast!

● Babies facial features are starting to look more human. Little lobes are taking shape on the bottom of their ears. Their eyes, which started out on the sides of their heads, have moved closer together.

● Babies skeletons are currently made from cartilage, a firm and rubbery tissue. But from this week, the cartilage will slowly harden into bone.

Week 12 FetusSource

AND HERE’S WHAT’S BEEN HAPPENING WITH ME THIS PAST WEEK:
Dizzy Spells. According to the books I’ve read, my uterus, now about the size of a large grapefruit. It is going to begin to migrate from the bottom of my pelvis to a front-and-center position in my abdomen. If I’m lucky, this will bring an end to one pesky early pregnancy symptom: the constant urge to urinate. Also slated to diminish somewhat now that I’m on the cusp of your second trimester are some of those other early pregnancy symptoms: nausea, super tender breasts and nipples, food aversions and fatigue. I sure hope and pray so! Morning sickness (especially) has been incredibly hard. But, there’s a new symptom added to the mix now: dizziness.

What to blame for the dizziness is my good old friend (being sarcastic here) progesterone. This hormone is what causes blood vessels to relax and widen around 12 weeks pregnant, increasing the flow of blood to our babies. This is very good for our babies (and I’m honestly glad and grateful for it). However, in turn, it slows the return of blood to me. What that means for me is lower blood pressure and reduced blood flow to my brain. These factors can contribute to that light-headed, dizzy feeling — especially when I get up too quickly. Another cause of dizziness during pregnancy is low blood-sugar levels, which can occur if I don’t eat regularly. So, I’m really trying to snack or eat something every 1 ½ – 2 hours, even if it’s something light.

OTHER SYMPTOMS:
● Morning sickness…still.
● Mood swings/More emotional.
● Nasal congestion.
● Fatigue.
● Hot all the time.
● Difficulty sleeping at night.

Food Aversions:
Hot/Spicy Veggies like Jalapenos, chili peppers, bell peppers.  Also, spices, herbs, tea, certain protein bars cause me to gag.

jalapenosSource

Food Cravings:
Morning sickness is lessening, but I still struggle with it. I’m honestly waiting for when I will LIKE food again. I WANT TO EAT! I’m super excited, actually, to crave In-And-Out, Fro-Yo and Mexican during my 2nd Trimester. My bizarre eating habits were more about self-preservation and getting in calories than a desperate NEED for that particular food.

Still loving:  Graham Crackers, PB & J and banana slices, Jelly Beans, Cottage Cheese, Zucchini Fries, Pickles, Prunes, Fries, PowerAde Zero, Watermelon.

New:  Junior Mints, Popcorn, Salads, Burger King Grilled Chicken Burgers.

Source, Source, Source & Source

Sleep:
I’ve been sleeping pretty well…and during naps, too.

Fun Exciting, & Weird Stuff From the Week?
This past week, I became thoroughly and utterly convinced that our twins had died…one or both of them. I know I’m not alone in this flavor of pregnancy paranoia (I’ve read both in books and blogs that it’s common) and I KNOW this will probably not be the last time I assume the worst has happened. But…oh my goodness…what a STATE I worked myself into. Tears and moping and obsessive web-searching (back away from Google, Amy!) and just worrying.

Well, I bought a fetal doppler. For fun. And reassurance that everything is all right. (You can rent them too, apparently.) My first-trimester symptoms have decreased dramatically over the past week and I decided that the doppler would help keep me calm until I could feel the baby move in a few weeks or so.

Long story short: Fading pregnancy symptoms combined with a week between perinatal appointments, I worried I’d killed our babies not to eating enough (morning sickness has been hard on me…hard to eat well. I’ve had a lot of guilt around that). I thought about all the people I’d have to break the news to — all the people who I would probably run into in a few months who would stare at me in confusion — the millions of little repercussions that would now follow my incredible cockiness for assuming a miscarriage wouldn’t happen to me.

Ahem. The babies are fine. Heartbeats are going strong. And today’s extra dose of nausea pre-breakfast reminds me that I’m not quite out of the first trimester yet.

So, I remain grateful. I also am taking more time with God to ask Him to help me be more trusting and faithful in His goodness and protection. I need to remember I’m in HIS HANDS. All I can do is take good care of myself and the babies…and He is supernaturally in charge of taking care of all of us.

Looking Forward To…
I’ve kind of been itching to find out whether the twins are a boy, girl, or two of the same. I’ve learned that between 18 – 20 weeks is the very earliest a boy or girl could possibly be seen on an ultrasound, and anatomy can still be difficult to make out with any certainty. I’ve been told we’ll probably find out our babies genders during an anatomy scan then.

Any Baby/Pregnancy-Related Purchases?
I did actually buy two things. First, I bought a fun t-shirt “Twins Cute Baby Announcement Pregnancy Shirt.” It has two little twin babies looking out at the world through a “slit” located on the Mom’s baby bump. I plan on wearing this out on date nights, to the grocery, etc.

Pregnancy T-shirt

Secondly, I am still finishing up a previous book, but I bought the next book I’ll read: “Your Pregnancy Week by Week.”

YPWbW

Stretch Marks?
Nope. I need to buy some belly butter soon…before that starts!

Belly Button In Or Out?
I have an “innie-outie.” Seriously, mine is half in, half out. It will be interesting to see if it “pops” out.

Happy or Moody Most Of The Time?
Very, very happy still! Sometimes I get emotional now. I think it’s just the hormones. Overall, though, I’m still just so grateful that God blessed us with me getting pregnant.

Any Movement?
No. Not yet. I think I have several weeks to go before I feel movement. However, that is something I’m looking forward to!

* * * * * * * * * *

Leave a Reply

