Pregnancy Update: 1st Trimester – Week 11

It’s time for your weekly pregnancy update! At 11 weeks, I’m 2 months and 3 weeks pregnant!

Week 11 MainWeek 11 Profile

Our babies are growing at an amazing rate! During week 11 of our pregnancy, our babies are as big as a lime! Our 11-week fetus is about 1.6 inches long and weighs in at about .25 ounces. Babies got about a 1:1 head-to-body ratio (which sounds weird, but that will change!).

LimeSource

HERE’S WHAT ELSE BABIES HAVE BEEN UP TO THIS WEEK:
● Babies are the size of a small lemon or a large lime. With a twist! Yeah, we’re done with the seed and berry comparisons and have moved onto fruit. Next stop, small household appliances!

● Babies are officially fetuses, and are downright human-baby looking with non-webbed fingers and toes, which are now fully separated. Yet, the babies still need a lot more cooking and fattening up. Most of our babies critical development will tail off in the next couple of weeks. Our babies main task during the next six months will be to grow larger and stronger, so they can survive on their own after birth.

● Babies are moving, kicking, dancing and even hiccuping, although I won’t be able to feel their acrobatics for a few more weeks (sometime between weeks 16 – 20).

Babies Got Fingers and Toes. Babies have distinct human characteristics: hands and feet in front of their body, ears nearly in their final shape, open nasal passages on the tip of their tiny nose, a tongue and palate in the mouth and visible nipples. Hair follicles are forming on the crown (as well as over the rest of the body). As mentioned above, Babies hands and feet have individual fingers and toes. Meanwhile, fingernail and toenail beds begin to develop this week; in the next few weeks, the nails themselves will start to grow.

Babies Sexual Organs are developing. While we can’t tell this baby’s gender by its cover yet, ovaries are developing if one of our twins is a girl.

● Babies bodies are straightening and their torsos are lengthening. Other poses our babies can do now: stretches, somersaults and forward rolls.

● Babies mouths are almost formed. The bones of their palate are fusing together and the first tiny buds of their milk teeth are growing in their gums.

● Babies eyes may still be closed, but they are far from asleep. They are busy flexing their muscles by impulsively kicking and stretching, although they are too small for me to feel these movements.

Week 11 FetusSource

AND HERE’S WHAT’S BEEN HAPPENING WITH ME THIS PAST WEEK:
●    Morning Sickness Is Easing…But Only A Little. I’m feeling a little bit hungrier these days — and that’s good: It’s a sign my morning sickness is easing and my appetite is gearing up to help nourish my body…and our babies. However, honestly, I still struggle a LOT with the nausea. (I still haven’t gained any weight, so please keep praying for me. The nausea is a rough battle.) Nausea is a day-to-day thing, still. I spent a very productive morning napping and staving off the usual waves of blah yesterday. But I’m gradually and slowly feeling better.

●   Bloating and Burping. I’m finding my pants and shorts aren’t buttoning without a struggle. Gas (oof!). Sorry, but tummy troubles are par for the pregnancy course. Though progesterone does a bang-up job in maintaining a healthy pregnancy, some of the less than flattering by-products of all the good it does are bloating…and burping…and passing gas. That’s because progesterone relaxes smooth muscle tissue in your body — including the gastrointestinal tract — slowing down digestion to allow more time for the nutrients from food to be absorbed into the bloodstream and passed to our babies. But what’s good for baby isn’t always good for me. The uncomfortable fullness you feel in your abdomen, especially after eating, may only get worse, according to some pregnancy books. Great. Ah…well…a price I’ll pay for the good health of the babies. I’m trying to steer clear of gas makers like beans, certain nuts, fried foods, carbonation and candy.

●    Fatigue…still. Seems like my two favorite positions these days sitting and lying down (except when I go on my morning hike). I’ve learned that pregnancy fatigue is normal. That’s because I’m running a baby-making factory that’s in business 24/7 (and since I’m the only employee, I’m always on the clock), causing my pregnant body to work harder at rest than my non-pregnant body did on the run. I’ve also learned that for the next few weeks, the twins are not the only thing in production — so are the placentas, the magnificently complex mission controls that will serve as our two baby’s life-support systems until delivery. The result? I feel tired and overworked 95% of the time, even when I’m not doing a darn thing. Fortunately, I’ve read that my energy should pick up once the placentas are up and running and my system adjusts (as best as it can) to the hormonal changes of pregnancy — probably early in the 2nd trimester. Apparently, I’ll get a surge of energy then. In the meantime, I’m trying my keep your blood-sugar level up with frequent snacks, and listening to my body. When it calls for a break or nap, I take one.

●    Leg cramps. Tight, crampy muscles sometimes strike at night and interfere with my sleep. However, it honestly doesn’t happen that often. I drink PowerAde One a lot through the day which contains a great balance of Potassium, Magnesium, Sodium, Calcium. I also stretch each day.

●    Skin spots/darkening. I’ve noticed I have darkened/sun spots around the edges of my face.

OTHER SYMPTOMS:
●    I have zits all up in my hairline. I suppose that’s significantly better than getting them right on my nose, or something.

●    Mood swings. They aren’t too bad, but I still get emotional at times…my teary.

●    Belly/Tummy Bump. My 11 week pregnant belly is starting to develop a full-on baby bump instead of just gas and bloating, but it can be hard to tell, still. But since I’m pregnant with twins, we do tend to start showing earlier than first-time moms-to-be…so my little bump probably causes people in the store or elsewhere to wonder if I’m carrying.

●    Bigger Breasts. I’ve been surprised to see that my boobs have noticeably changed. I may need to shop for some new, comfy, stretchy bras at this stage in the game. I’m planning on breastfeeding (Gosh, I sure hope that will go well. I know some Moms struggle or end up not being able to do it), so a nursing bra may be something I’ll get here since it will come in handy after the babies are born.

* * * * *

Food Aversions:
Still….mostly every raw or cooked vegetable, except cucumbers or tomatoes. “Too Strong” Spices/Herbs, Tea, Coffee (I’m not drinking any coffee while pregnant), and protein bars all are things I avoid.

Source, Source & Source

Food Cravings:
I feel like I’m eating some weird-ass stuff last time, all in the name of “Just Trying To Keep Food Down.” I found a few things that just always tasted good and didn’t trigger my nose or my nausea (cottage cheese, English Muffins, pickles), but I wouldn’t say I’ve fully really CRAVED anything. At least I’m not having not movie-style cravings where the woman is kicking her husband and demanding that he go buy her a ridiculous combination of foods.  I’m honestly waiting for that! I’m super excited, actually, to crave In-And-Out, Fro-Yo and Mexican during my 2nd Trimester. I want to LIKE food again. My bizarre eating habits were more about self-preservation than a desperate NEED for that particular food.

Still loving: Graham Crackers, PB & J with banana slices, Jelly Beans, Cottage Cheese, Greek Yogurt, Pickles, SP Fries, PowerAde Zero, Watermelon.

New: Peaches, Burgers (I had a burger 4 days in a row last week!), Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, (Baked) Zucchini Fries

Source, Source, Source & Source

Sleep:
I’ve been sleeping pretty well…and during naps, too.

Fun Exciting, & Weird Stuff From the Week?

I’ve been reading my pregnancy books a ton. I bought my hubby the book “Dude, You’re Going Be a Dad,” to read.

Dude book

Looking Forward To…
My baby bump getting bigger. Starting to be able to eat a lot more and morning sickness finally stopping.

Any Baby/Pregnancy-Related Purchases?
Nope. We’re still waiting until we move before we purchase or receive (from family) nursery items.

Stretch Marks?
Nope. I need to buy some belly butter soon…before that starts!

Belly Button In Or Out?
I have an “innie-outie.” Seriously, mine is half in, half out. It will be interesting to see if it “pops” out.

Happy or Moody Most Of The Time?
Very, very happy still! Sometimes I get emotional now. I think it’s just the hormones. Overall, though, I’m still just so grateful that God blessed us with me getting pregnant.

Any Movement?
No. Not yet. I think I have several weeks to go before I feel movement. However, that is something I’m looking forward to.

* * * * * * * * *

Leave a Reply

