Pregnancy Update: 1st Trimester – Week 10

It’s time for your weekly pregnancy update! At 10 weeks, I’m 2 months and 2 weeks pregnant!

Week 10 PrimaryWeek 10 Profile

Our babies are growing at an amazing rate! During week 10 of our pregnancy, our babies are as big as a strawberry, measuring about 1.2 inches long and weighing about .14 ounces. My 10-week baby’s body length will almost double in the next three weeks. Also, both babies will officially be considered a fetus by the end of this week! Wow!

StrawberrySource

HERE’S WHAT ELSE BABIES HAVE BEEN UP TO THIS WEEK:
● They are over an inch long, maybe by as much as 3/4 of ANOTHER WHOLE INCH. That’s almost TWO INCHES. That’s slightly bigger than a really big coat button, but not quite as long as a AA battery.

● Have heartbeats strong enough to be heard via a Doppler.

● Most congenital conditions appear before the end of week 10, meaning the most delicate and critical development period is over. I breathed a sigh of relief over that, but honestly I’m still cautiously optimistic because I’ve heard horror stories of women still losing their babies further along. I realize though that I must (and will!) continue to lean on God and believe that He is taking care of our littles. They are in His Hands.

Babies Bones Form. Our babies growth is fast and furious now into my 10th week. They are nearly an inch-and-a-half long and the size of a prune, but not nearly as shriveled (even with all the time spent in the amniotic sacs). In fact, our babies are really taking a human shape now. Bones and cartilage are forming and small indentations on the legs are developing into knees and ankles. The arms, complete with elbows, can flex already (how’s that for magical?) However, even though our babies arms are taking shape and getting stronger, they are still teeny-tiny.

Babies First Teeth. The tooth bud fairy is making her appearance this week, heralding the arrival of both babies little choppers, which are forming under the gums. Yet, their pearly whites won’t break through the gums until our babies are close to 6 months old. Other systems are a forming, too. Our babies stomach is producing digestive juices, the kidneys are producing larger quantities of urine and, if one or both of our twins are a boy, he’s already producing testosterone (how manly!).

● Babies have working arm joints, and cartilage and bones are forming. Our 10-week fetuses vital organs are fully developed and they’re starting to function. Fingernails and hair are starting to appear too! And babies are busy practicing swallowing and kicking inside my 10 week pregnant belly even though I can’t really feel anything yet.

● Babies hearts are now fully developed, and beat about 180 times a minute. Their legs can rotate at the hip joints, and their arms can move at the shoulder. They are testing this new flexibility by instinctively kicking and moving their limbs.

● Babies foreheads are bulging with their developing brain, although this is only temporary (the bulging). They are beginning to lift their chin from their chest so that their head is more upright.

Week 10 FetusSource

AND HERE’S WHAT’S BEEN HAPPENING WITH ME THIS PAST WEEK:
Fatigue. I’m still really zapped. Here’s why: Not only is my body working really hard to grow our twin babies, but my sleep has been disrupted by some pretty weird dreams. My naps in the afternoon are a must. Sometimes I even have a mid-morning one too, on days where I’m particularly exhausted. Honestly, I’m looking forward to 2nd trimester when I get back a bit more energy.

Rounder Tummy. I have a slight roundness in my lower stomach area, which is probably more noticeable since I’m a naturally more slight individual. The pudge is due to my ever-growing uterus, which is now about the size of a small grapefruit. I feel like my bump is about 75% methane gas at this point. Ha ha! 1st Trimester pregnancy bloat due to gas is a REAL thing. I have heard from other twin moms that their belly popped out around week 8-10 and never popped back in, until the baby was actually big enough to take up the space, and then it grew. Honestly, I WANT to get a bigger belly. I love round pregnant bellies! It shows Mommy is feeding/nourishing their babies well enough.

Round ligament pain. I’ve started feeling some aches and pains in my abdomen as it stretches to accommodate our growing babies.

Visible veins. I’ve learned these blue streaks that have been showing up serve an important purpose: They’re carrying a ton of extra blood to the babies. It’s basically an expanded network of veins that’s carrying the increased blood supply needed to nourish our growing fetuses. I’ve noticed already that the veins in your hands and feet seem larger and more prominent, too. From pregnancy books and blogs I read, I’ve learned that during pregnancy, the average woman’s blood volume increases by a little under 50% and the veins have to keep up so they can go with the flow. So, essentially, I’ve viewing these blue lines on your body to be a pregnancy badge of honor. I’m wearing them with pride. They are part of the super-highways of nourishment going to the babies.

Growing breasts. My boobs have definitely gotten bigger! That’s because the breasts start very early to prep for breastfeeding. I think I may finally need to invest in a few new bras.

OTHER SYMPTOMS:
Worry. Honestly, I’m struggling with worrying about whether I’m eating enough food. I pray that I am. Morning sickness (see below) has been hard for me, and I don’t think I’ve gained much weight to this point. I’m honestly praying I’ll catch up in my 2nd trimester when my appetite will hopefully come on with intensity.

Morning sickness. I’ve been starting to feel just the teensiest bit better, symptom-wise. But honestly, it’s still a day-by-day thing. Some days are awful…others much better. I’ve learned morning sickness “typically” peaks around week 9, but nausea and vomiting are pretty common at 10 weeks, too. The good news is that I’ve heard from multiple sources that it will likely subside soon after I hit the 2nd trimester. I’m sure hoping and praying so!

Mood swings. Changes in my hormones are causing me to be a little more on edge, irritable and teary at times, too. Overall, I’m a pretty stable person, but I’ve noticed I’ll get more emotional about things that are pretty minor. Ah, well…the best I can do is apply some humor to this symptom.

Fun & Weird Stuff From the Week
Over the weekend, for Easter, hubby and I went out to eat breakfast at Wildflower Bread Company. For those of you unfamiliar with WBC, it’s a lot like a Panera or Paradise Bakery.

Us-Easter

Amazing homemade bread, in-house whipped butter, and delicious food. Mike ordered the Protein Power Bowl and I had the 3-egg breakfast (scrambled), complete with turkey sausage, potatoes and their Artisian toast. My appetite was excellent as I cleaned my plate. (My Morning Sickness was a bit at bay that morning).

Mike's MealMike’s Protein Bowl

Amy's Meal

My Triple Scrambled Egg Breakfast

We also gave each other Easter baskets afterwards. We always like to fill each other’s up with lots of goodies: Jelly Beans, Chocolate Bunnies, Chocolate Eggs, Cadbury Eggs, the whole bit. It’s a tradition we have! We are looking forward to next year and all future years…as we want to have fun Easter Egg hunts with our kiddos!
Easter Candy #1Easter Candy #2

On Monday April 17th, we also had our 3rd Ultrasound done. The twins/babies are doing great. If you haven’t yet, read more on Tuesday’s blog post here.

08-58-42

Food Aversions:
Mostly every raw or cooked vegetables, except cucumbers or tomatoes. Also, spices, herbs, tea, certain protein bars cause me to gag.

Food Cravings:
New: Watermelon, Graham Crackers, Fries, Yellow Cake Cupcakes

Source, Source, Source & Source

Still loving: Bagels, Muffins, Cereal, English Muffins with PB & J and banana slices, Jolly Rancher Jelly Beans, Cottage Cheese, Pickles, Ice-Cream, Frosted Animal Cookies, PowerAde Zero, Fresh Fruit

Sleep:
I’ve been sleeping pretty well…and during naps, too.

Looking Forward To…
Being in my 2nd Trimester so that I don’t have to experience Morning Sickness 24/7. Having a baby bump too! Being able to EAT foods I’ve been averse too (I miss real food!)

Any Baby/Pregnancy-Related Purchases?
I bought this book called “When You’re Expecting Twins, Triplets, or Quads 3rd Edition” last weekend and started reading it this week. So far, it’s excellent!

Twins book

Stretch Marks?
Nope. I need to buy some belly butter soon…before that starts!

Belly Button In Or Out?
I have an “innie-outie.” Seriously, mine is half in, half out. It will be interesting to see if it “pops” out.

Happy or Moody Most Of The Time?
Very, very happy still! Sometimes I get emotional now. I think it’s just the hormones. Overall, though, I’m still just so grateful that God blessed us with me getting pregnant.

Any Movement?
No. Not yet. I think I have several weeks to go before I feel movement. However, that is something I’m looking forward to!

* * * * * * * * *

2 thoughts on “Pregnancy Update: 1st Trimester – Week 10

Leave a Reply

