Pregnancy Update: 1st Trimester – Week 9

It’s time for your weekly pregnancy update! At 9 weeks, I’m 2 months and 1 week pregnant!

Week 9 MainWeek 9 Profile

Our babies are growing at an amazing rate! During week 9 of our pregnancy, our babies are as big as a cherry! Our 9-week fetuses measure around .9 inches each and weigh about .07 ounces. Babies growth is picking up steam!

This week, the babies and I have made two big accomplishments: I have made it to the beginning of month three, and our babies are no longer an embryo. Now each baby is considered a fetus. That means they are becoming more and more baby-like, and I’m inching closer and closer to leaving the nasties of 1st trimester morning sickness behind me. Praise God! (Morning Sickness has been really hard for me). Just one more month to go!

cherriesSource

HERE’S WHAT ELSE BABY HAS BEEN UP TO THIS WEEK:

●   Babies are about the size of a cherry, grape, or a cocktail green olive.

●   They have fingers and toes and eyelids and ears.

●   External boy and girl-parts are present in both, but won’t be really distinguishable for another couple of weeks.

●   My placenta is fully functioning, absorbing nutrients and oxygen from my blood, and delivering them to our babies.

●    All their body parts are now present, including their arms, legs, eyes, genitals and other organs, though they’re not yet fully formed.

●   The End of the Embryo Period. Our babies are only an embryo for one more week and are already developing into a fetus. They are about one inch long. Each baby’s head has straightened out and is more fully developed and the ears are continuing to grow, making our babies look more human. Plus, toes are visible, and all of our babies essential organs (heart, brain, kidneys, liver and lungs) have begun to develop. Our soon-to-be-fetuses are also making spontaneous movements of their arms and legs now that minuscule muscles are beginning to develop, though I won’t feel our tiny dancers for at least another month or two.

Week 9 fetusSource

AND HERE’S WHAT’S BEEN HAPPENING WITH ME THIS PAST WEEK:
● Right now, the pregnancy hormone hCG is circulating through my body at its peak level. That means that I’m experiencing the most severe morning sickness and fatigue I’ve had. I’m doing my best to hang in there and remind myself that I’m just weeks away from those hormones leveling out a bit. I’m looking forward to when I can feel more like myself…to like food again and have more energy.

Feeling So Tired! Just feeling zapped much of the time. My hormones are working overtime to grow and develop our 9-week fetuses. When it comes to pregnancy symptoms, I feel like I’ve already reached my limit. My clothes are getting tighter around the waist, I’m busting out on top, I’m still running to the bathroom 100 times a day to pee. Also, I’m having trouble lifting my head off the pillow, I’m dragging my feet all day and I can’t wait to crawl into bed at night.

I’ve learned that extreme pregnancy fatigue is a common symptom, especially in the 1st trimester AND for women like me who are having twins. And for good reason: Making 2 babies is hard work. My body is working overtime preparing for motherhood as it develops the placentas — our babies lifelines. What’s more, my body’s metabolism and hormone levels have increased significantly, which triggers a decrease in blood sugar and blood pressure — a recipe for fatigue.

Mood swings. Because hormones just keep raging, and also because nausea and fatigue continue to bother me, I find my emotions more apparent. My patient hubby. I’m grateful to him. As a result, even though it’s been incredibly hard for this Type-A, likes-to-stay-busy-and-active woman, I’ve slowed my usual roll, taken breaks (to nap, to surf the Net, or just to veg out and watch Netflix), and been more compassionate with myself.

Morning sickness. I’ve learned that up to 80 percent of pregnant women experience some form of morning sickness. And women with multiples or twins experienced double or more the intensity of it. Honestly, morning sickness should really be called ALL-day sickness though! Again, I haven’t vomited at all (thank goodness!) but I FEEL like I’m going to 24/7. Sigh… I feel like I’ve been such a broken record with regards to this symptom, so I’ll wrap it up now.

OTHER SYMPTOMS:

Frequent urination. Because my uterus is expanding and because there’s major blood flow to my pelvic area, I am heading to the bathroom more often than I did pre-pregnancy. But, I haven’t let that stop me from drinking lots of water and good fluids. I know it’s important to stay hydrated. I’ve learned babies need a lot of water to grow and develop.

Nasal congestion. This has been an interesting and unexpected symptom. I’ve learned pregnancy can cause higher mucus production in the body, so I’ve been stuffed up often. I keep the tissues handy.

Headaches. Hormone surges are giving me headaches (as can dehydration, caffeine withdrawal, hunger, lack of sleep, and stress…all of which I’m trying to avoid). But hormones need to do their thing in order to grow the babies well. I deal with headaches like all my other symptoms, eating at least every few hours, getting plenty of sleep, and drinking lots of water.

Leg Hair is Growing! Ha ha! The hair on my legs and other…ahem…areas is growing alarmingly fast. Craziness! That is all.

ACK! HOT! ALWAYS SO HOT! I currently can’t sleep under the covers and am always sweaty. AND I’m only 9 weeks along! Ha! I wonder how I’m going to be at 30+ weeks?!

Food Aversions:
Still cooked vegetables. The thought of eating asparagus or stir-fry…bleech! However, I do eat raw cucumbers, tomatoes and spinach now. Most meats (except canned chicken). Protein Bars. Orange Flavored Gum.

Source, Source, Source & Source

Food Cravings:
Mini-bagels, Mint Chocolate-Chip Ice-Cream, English Muffins, Frost Animal Cookies, Peanut Butter & (Blackberry) Jelly, bananas, Starburst Jelly Beans. I also love fruit still: Watermelon, Plums, Oranges, Peaches, Cottage Cheese, Pickles, Ice-Cream, Prunes, Sweet Potato Fries, Powerade Zero

Source, Source, Source, Source & Source

Sleep:
I’ve been sleeping pretty well…and during naps, too.

Fun Exciting, & Weird Stuff From the Week?
Last week, I attended a local MOPS group and met another woman (shout out to you, Shannon!) who had twin girls. We talked for about 1 1/2 hours about everything relating to twins/multiples. She was EXTREMELY helpful. It was wonderful. We also connected on a personal level. I’m excited about learning more from her! She’s a wealth of wisdom!

MOPS-MentorSource

Looking Forward To…
In two weeks, on Monday 3/17, we are going in for our 3rd ultrasound. I will be a little under 10 weeks then. We are hoping and praying to see that our twins have grown a lot more and are healthy and doing wonderfully. Also hoping their placentas have grown also and are getting to where they need to be.

Any Baby/Pregnancy-Related Purchases?
Not this past week. Still waiting until we find out the sex/genders of each twin…then after we get into our new place to purchase the bigger items and receive gifts from family.

Stretch Marks?
Not yet.

Belly Button In Or Out?
My hubby was beginning to notice my belly-button is beginning to pop out. It still has a ways to go though. Perhaps, in my 2nd Trimester?

Happy or Moody Most Of The Time?
Very, very happy and grateful still! Sometimes I get emotional now. I think it’s just the hormones. Overall, though, I’m still just so grateful that God blessed us with me getting pregnant.

Any Movement?
No. Not yet. I think I have several weeks to go before I feel movement. However, that is something I’m looking forward to!

Leave a Reply

