Pregnancy Update: 1st Trimester – Week 7

It’s time for your weekly pregnancy update! At 7 weeks, I’m one month and about one week pregnant!

Week 7 MainWeek 7 Profile

This week, little babies are the size of a blueberry! At 7 weeks pregnant, the embryos measure about .51 inches, having doubled in size since last week. The babies don’t exactly tip the scales just yet, but are developing like crazy inside my pregnant belly.

BlueberrySource

HERE’S WHAT ELSE BABY HAS BEEN UP TO THIS WEEK:

●    Babies are still growing. Always with their growing. Babies starts off this week at 4-5 millimeters long, but is a whopping half an inch by the end!
●    Have a two-chambered heart, air passages in the lungs, and cerebral hemispheres in the brains.
●    Have an appendix, which is kind of cool until you remember that the appendix is almost completely useless. But it’s there now!
●    Babies are measuring approximately a quarter of an inch in length now — about the size of a blueberry. Sounds pretty tiny still? Consider this for a little perspective: Babies are 10,000 times bigger now than they were at conception a month+ ago.
●    At 7 weeks pregnant, much of our babies growth is concentrated in the head (the better to store all those smarts) as new brain cells are generated at the rate of 100 per minute. Their brains are becoming more complex. How’s that for a budding geniuses?
●    Babies Arms and Legs Start Developing. Babies are going out on a limb this week. Their arm and leg buds begin to sprout and grow longer (and stronger), dividing into hand, arm and shoulder segments and leg, knee and foot segments (though the limb buds look more like paddles than hands or feet at this early stage).
●    Babies Have Kidneys. Also, forming this week are our babies mouths and tongues. The kidneys are in place now, too, and are poised to begin their important work of waste management. Soon, babies will start producing urine.
●    Babies are still an embryo and has a small tail that will disappear in the next few weeks. But that’s the only thing that’s getting smaller. The rest of his body is growing and developing every day.
●    Babies facial features are starting to take shape. Baby’s limbs are lengthening, and nerves are spreading down the legs.

WEek 7 EmbryoSource

AND HERE’S WHAT’S BEEN HAPPENING WITH ME THIS PAST WEEK:

●   Overall, feeling a little urpy and gaggy and pukey.

●   Incredibly sensitive to smells.

●   Tired and peeing a lot and moody and possibly a walking ball of digestive issues.
I feel more pregnant than you actually look (even though my uterus has doubled in size).

●   Morning Sickness – Still. I’ve heard it’ll peak within a few weeks and hopefully dissipate soon into the second trimester. I have been hearing stories a friend who threw up the entire nine months, but that is SO NOT HELPFUL. Neither is it helpful when someone says they felt queasy one day and that’s it. It seems that EVERYBODY and their friend’s cousin’s dog-walker has the perfect cure-all remedy for Morning Sickness. I have come to the conclusion that every woman’s morning sickness is different, and every woman’s morning sickness for every pregnancy is different.

The whole “keep food in your belly all the time” thing really does help. If I go too long without a little snack, I get extremely queasy. But I’m also not actually throwing up, which I feel very grateful for. Many women DO vomit. I’ve tried lemon candies, “real” ginger ale, crackers, gentle fruits and hot baths and I don’t even remember what else. None of it has really worked, but I’m okay about that. Morning sickness is WORTH IT! If I have to go through this to have our babies, I’ll do it. They are far worth the discomfort and pain. I’ve also learned that I won’t really give another pregnant woman my advice. I’ll only console and support her. Morning Sickness is really very individual and all due to pregnancy hormones.

●   My Swollen Breasts. Though my baby is the size of a blueberry, my breasts look more like melons. They are also pretty tender, tingly and achy. The culprit? Those necessary pregnancy hormones estrogen and progesterone. I’ve learned fat is also building up in my breasts and blood flow to the area is increasing. My nipples are sticking out a little more than usual. They’re so sensitive and tender. The areola (the dark area around the nipple) has already gotten darker and larger, and I’ve learned they will continue to grow and deepen in color over the months to come. On a less attractive note, I’ve noticed little goose-bump-like spots on the areola. These bumps, called Montgomery tubercles, are sweat glands that supply lubrication to the areola. All these boob changes are all essential to the important task of breastfeeding our newborn in 32-33 weeks! The body just prepares early.

Fun Exciting, & Weird Stuff From the Week?

On Monday 3/27, we had an ultrasound that turned out to be quite the surprise! I’d encourage you to go back and read this post! Essentially, my hubby and I learned we are having TRIPLETS! So, here on out, I’ll be using the terms “baby’s, and babies!” It was so amazing to see and listen to our babies hearts beating!

09-09-10

*Next up: On Monday 4/3 will confirm that all the babies are doing okay and to see if Baby B has grow a lot more. We hope and pray he/she has!!

Weight Gained:

Again, I have no idea. I’m not weighing myself. I’ll leave that up to my doctor (ob/gyn) when I have my check-ups. However, I know my pooch is gradually growing…although bit-by-bit. I’m fine with that actually!

Workouts:

A solid Hike each morning. Going on a daily walk mid-day.

Other Symptoms:

  • Cramps or Twinges. My womb (uterus) is already expanding to accommodate your growing baby. As this happens, the tissues supporting your womb (ligaments) will stretch and you may feel mild ticklings in my tummy.
  • Extra saliva. Here’s a symptom you never expected! The excess saliva is probably also hormonally triggered and could be related to nausea too.
  • Fatigue. I get tired a bit more than usual. Afternoon naps now are routine (and in a way – a necessity).

Food Aversions:

One look or smell of spinach, broccoli, ALL raw and cooked veggies (except cucumbers) sends me flying out the door or dry heaving. Pregnancy food aversions are a real thing. Seriously.  I also can’t stand flour tortillas now, nuts (I know, it’s so weird because 2 weeks ago, I loved them), rice, potatoes, pork, tea or coffee.

I HAVE found it best to stick to bland and boring (see my cravings below)

Food Cravings:

ALL fruits (I think I crave the sweet + hydration of them ) – especially pears, honeydew and oranges, English Muffins, Cottage Cheese, Pickles, Ice-Cream, Saltines (I eat a ton of these now), brownies

Source, Source and Source

 

Sleep:

I’ve been sleeping pretty well…and during naps, too.

Looking Forward To…

*Hopefully and prayerfully learning that Baby B is growing a lot more and his/her heartbeat is much faster! Wanting Baby A and C to continue rocking it out and growing too!

*Also, honestly, I cannot wait until my Morning Sickness ends at 12-ish weeks! I want to be able to enjoy food again!

Any Baby/Pregnancy-Related Purchases?

Actually, none this past week. We are waiting until we know the sexes of the babies before we buy a lot of stuff. For the Large baby items we realize we have to buy 3’s of mostly everything (cribs, changing stations, blankets, monitor, diaper genie, etc). We’re trying to figure out the most cost-effective way of obtaining these things without sacrificing safety or quality.

Stretch Marks?

Nope. I need to buy some belly butter soon…before that starts!

Belly Button In Or Out?

I have an “innie-outie.” Seriously, mine is half in, half out. It will be interesting to see if it “pops” out.

Happy or Moody Most Of The Time?

Very, very happy still! Sometimes I get emotional now. I think it’s just the hormones. Overall, though, I’m still just so grateful that God blessed us with me getting pregnant.

Any Movement?

No. Not yet. I think I have several weeks to go before I feel movement. However, that is something I’m looking forward to!

* * * * * * * *

Leave a Reply

